The Pioneer League has been in existence since 1939. Since its inception, the Pioneer League has confined itself to a very small area… the 3 states surrounding the Northern Rocky Mountains… Idaho, Montana and Utah. It wasn't until almost 40 years later, that a location other than these 3 isolated states would even be considered for the Pioneer League.