Sioux Falls' and Fargo's choice to steer away from the Prairie League and join Wolfe's Northern League, when all of the other Dakota teams were going with the other league, was a great decision. By December of 1997, the Prairie League was gone. All 4 cities remain today without a professional team. Fargo and Sioux Falls meanwhile remain very strong franchises, often playing in front of sellout crowds.