Between 1995 and 1996, many Dakota cities joined professional baseball leagues. Two competing leagues had formed... the Prairie League and Miles Wolfe's revitilization of the old Northern League that folded in 1971. Both were independent baseball leagues. Aberdeen, Grand Forks, Minot and Bismarck joined the Prairie League, while Sioux Falls and Fargo joined the Northern League.