The Prairie League had already adopted the towns of Aberdeen (Pheasants), Minot (Mallards) and Bismarck (Dakota Rattlers). The only two big North Dakota towns still remaining without professional baseball were Grand Forks and Fargo. The Northern League took Fargo and began playing in Williams Stadium. A new ballpark was promised to the city and within a few months, the very large Newman Outdoor Field was created.