The new Tallahassee Capitals were not surprisingly, an exceptional team in 1935 under the New York Giants umbrella. Pitching was key on this team and Clifford Sauerbrun (20-7) was the ace of this terrific staff with Leon Scherer (9-1) right beside him. At the plate, the man with all the power was Glenn Murray (23 2B, 18 3B, 8 HR, .245) at a time when 8 HR was quite significant with triples were far more common. Frank Waits (17 2B, 11 3B, 3 HR, .295) meanwhile led the league in runs scored with 97. The Capitals and the Albany Travelers fought all season long for 1st place and in the final day of the season, Albany would edge out Tallahassee by half a game with the Capitals finishing at 67-52 (.563). The battle had really just begun as the playoffs would now feature a best of 7 series between these top two teams. After 6 games, it wasn't surprising to anyone that the series was split at 3 games apiece. Albany of course had won that battle during the season, but here the playoffs where it really counted, it would be the Capitals who would edge out Albany in the final game to take the first Championship of the Georgia-Florida League's history. It would set a tone for things to come.