The final entry into the senior circuit was named the Gulf Coast Suns. That team would split its season, with half of the home games played at huge Bobby Maduro Stadium in Miami. The other half, would be here at Pompano Municipal Stadium. The team featured former stars, Luis Tiant,
Ed Figueroa,
Cesar Cedeno,
Bert Campineris, Joaquin Andujar and was managed by
Earl Weaver. What sounded like a great idea, turned out to be a bust. By 1990 the league had scaled down to only 4 teams. The Suns didn't make the cut. The league folded altogether at the end of the 1990 season.