The Squirrels are officially known as the "Royal Borgerhout Squirrels". The "Royal" formality is an honor given to the team by the Royal House according to Chris Kabout of due to the fact that this franchise has now been in existence for more than 50 years. According to the honorary Chairman of the Squirrels, Rik Feringa... the Borgerhout Squirrels can trace their history all the way back to 1947.