Photograph courtesy of Iowa Cubs / Larry A. Woolis
Sec Taylor Stadium I opened up in 1947 as Riverside Park and was home to the Des Moines Bruins. The Bruins were a Chicago Cubs franchise and they would play throughout the Western League's 3rd incarnation from 1947 until 1958, when it suspended operations for the last time. The Bruins won the Western League title in 1953 and 1954, and made the playoffs in 7 of its 12 years of existance. The name of the stadium changed to Pioneer Park from 1949 until 1964.