Photograph courtesy of Ed Pippenger
Amazingly, these 8 teams would form a core that would last for 50 years. A core so solid, that no team entered or left the American Association from 1903 until 1952, when Toledo moved to Charleston's Watt Powell Park. For 50 years these same 8 teams played every game almost non-stop, through two World Wars (except for 1/2 a season in 1918) when almost every other league in the Minors suspended play for at least a year. No other league would ever have this powerful of a core, where no city was allowed to join or leave the league for half a century.